Q and A for 03/16/2009.

Pastor Jay Bakker of Revolution Church NYC answers your questions.  For March 16th, 2009.

5 Responses to Q and A for 03/16/2009.

  1. Andy Owen says:

    I don’t mean to go off point, but I almost fell off my chair laughing when the cat jumped up on the table!

    This is the review I kind of expected. Haven’t seen it yet. Thought it would be like you said, just that he wasn’t interested in religious big wigs, he is more interested in talking to the followers and saying, “Why do you follow without questioning?” Which I can’t necessarily disagree with. Good review man!

  2. Collin says:

    I would love to see Jay as a panelist on Real Time with Bill Maher. It would be awesome to have a Christian voice on there with fresh ideas.

  3. Jamie says:

    When watching this movie, I often felt that Bill was making himself look worse than the people he “interviewed” (if you could even call it that). While I didn’t agree with the beliefs of most of the people in the film, I felt that just letting them speak for themselves would have been more effective than Bill’s preferred technique of picking fights with them. He also didn’t have a very strong point about the beliefs of the people he interviewed aside from everything you believe is stupid and ridiculous.

    In the end, he just came off as too aggressive to be taken seriously. Good documentaries seek something out. This movie just wanted to attack.

  4. Katie says:

    When I heard about that movie, actually it was while I was in the hospital and was offered a night out with friends to go see that movie, and I vehemently declined.

    I mean, I know I should be more open-minded, but I just knew it would make me angry and when I’m worried about getting angry, I just tend to stick my head in the sand. It would be awesome if someone could tell me why that is?

    So Jay’s braver than me. He’s so diplomatic, and the cat was an excellent touch.

  5. Paolo says:

    I suppose that when one is of a certain faith (in this case Christianity), and someone else is holding up some terrible examples of Christianity for ridicule, it can be frustrating. We’d all like to be able to control the message and how the world views Christianity, but we can’t. We can only walk our little walk and learn from the mistakes of others. It is easier to stick your head in the sand when confronted with a challenge and tough questions, but then how do you ever grow in your faith? I would say, step one, don’t get angry =) Laugh at yourself, at Christianity, at others, and then learn to listen and love no matter what. It’s not easy, but it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

