Throwing Out Jesus with the Religion

Sermon for May 10th, 2009 by Jay Bakker at Pete’s Candy Store in Brooklyn, New York.

Study Resources:

CNN Torture Survey

Galatians 1:6-9

Galatians 2:19-21

“With God On Our Side” by Bob Dylan

3 Responses to Throwing Out Jesus with the Religion

  1. GregC says:

    Jay even though I’ve lost my faith.. no I didn’t loose it.. it abandoned me. I’m listening to your sermon as I type this. I still love you though.

    How does the church address suffering? Why did I live and my best friend in the cancer ward die?

    • FuzzyGrey says:

      Hey, Greg. I’m sure you wanted Jay to answer, but I hope you are willing to hear my words too.

      I lost my faith in Christianity a long time ago, when I was a teenager. In recent years, I found interest in other religions and philosophies. I happen to catch Jay’s show on the sundance channel and started to listen to the podcasts after that.
      Jay brought me back to Christ. I still listen to and have faith in the other religions, but I now also consider myself a child of Christ and it’s all because of Jay and Reverend Vince.

      I don’t know how long you’ve been listening to Jay, but if you check out some of the archived podcasts, you can listen for yourself how Jay dealt with his mom’s death.
      If you want the CliffsNotes, as it turns out even Jay has crises of faith. It was probably the toughest thing he went through since his family “fell from grace”, and this was also on the heels of he and his wife separating. Not an easy couple of years for him.
      But he keeps the faith. He has faith that God isn’t going to give him anything he can’t handle. Because that’s just what God does.
      There’s no answer as to “why” you are alive and others you care about have died. All that you should really concern yourself with is THAT you are alive.

      Sing it with me…
      God grant me the serenity to ACCEPT the things I cannot change. The COURAGE to change the things I can. And the WISDOM to know the difference.

      I have had to accept a lot of horrible things in life, and that may be the greatest gift that God granted me. Have faith, friend, and He won’t let you down, I pinky swear! (and if you can’t find faith right now, let us have faith for you, and just hang in and stick around, it will find you.)

  2. FuzzyGrey says:

    I re-read my answer, and I think I capitalized the wrong words..

    God Grand me the serenity to accept the things I CANNOT change.
    Courage to CHANGE the things I CAN.
    And the wisdom to know the DIFFERENCE.

    There.. I think that sounds better.

Leave a Reply

