Good Theology That Makes You a Jerk Isn’t Good Theology.

Sermon Message by Pastor Jay Bakker.  For Sunday, July 5th, 2009.  From Pete’s Candy Store in Brooklyn, New York.

Right click here to download to desktop.

Study Resources:

John Piper

Shane Claiborne

22 Responses to Good Theology That Makes You a Jerk Isn’t Good Theology.

  1. jay bakker says:

    This was not an ease message to give.

    • Adam says:

      I would think so. The Holy Spirit must have been convicting you the whole time.

      Many Theologies that we share make us be viewed as jerks in the eyes of the world. That what Jesus stated in John chapter 15.

      I would have to point out that the messages i have been seeing and some of the stances that you have are not biblically based, they are based on The World. “If you have any love for the world, The love of the Father is not in you.” Jesus drew a line in the sand and stood firm on what was right and what was not. What you are doing is trying to blur the line to allow people to live in Sin and be OK with it. This is not the Gospel that we read in our bibles. We also know from Galatians that if anyone should bring another Gospel, Let them be accursed. Break away from this idea that you can sacrifice the teachings of our Saviour to satisf our need to be a rebel and “live offensivly”

      ohh, by the way, you spelled “easy” incorrectly
      God Bless.

  2. Lisias says:

    i have a friend that usually goes there and since i’m visiting him here in nyc (i’m from sao paulo, brazil), today i went to the service. it was very important and nice to hear and made me remember a text on mark 9: Whoever Is Not Against Us Is for Us
    38″Teacher,” said John, “we saw a man driving out demons in your name and we told him to stop, because he was not one of us.”
    39″Do not stop him,” Jesus said. “No one who does a miracle in my name can in the next moment say anything bad about me, 40for whoever is not against us is for us. 41I tell you the truth, anyone who gives you a cup of water in my name because you belong to Christ will certainly not lose his reward.

    i would write more, but thanks is good enough,isn’t it? 🙂 i was thirsty…

  3. Kim says:

    Jay-

    I just wanted to say that I follow you on Twitter. I have seen some of the responses and arguments posted on there. I see some of your statuses and can tell you are frustrated. I wanted to say that keep your head up! I pray for you and your ministry! Keep preaching love and grace brother!

    -Kim

  4. Ray says:

    This was a great message. Just watched One Punk Under God and was thrilled to find the sermons online. I’m a former youth ministry guy with lots of questions and some baggage. Thanks for giving us hope!

  5. Xtine says:

    I like what you say about stopping the growth once we think we have a grasp on “absolute truth.” My christian journey continued to grow once I grew to the point that there was no absolute truth in Christ Only.
    Really enjoyed listening to this… refreshing… especially for having gone through much of what you are experiencing. Thanks for sharing. Admire the courage. Enjoy watching a turning of a new leaf in christianity… or a re-turning to Jesus’ original message.

  6. virne says:

    I haven’t listened to this one yet. Of course it rocks. 🙂
    But I was just checking Twitter and oh boy…

    I just want to remind you about Psalm 25. I may sound like my nagging mother, but read your prayers! God is with Revolution, and with Jay, no matter what people say.

  7. sara says:

    Jay-

    I’ve been keeping up with some of the attacks on Twitter, and this message came at just the right time for me. This past week a Christian man stated that he thinks that I share theology with Nazis because of my pro-choice views. “No offense, just my opinion.” No offense? Are you kidding me? Since when is a disagreement an invitation for attack?

    He and I share different opinions. I can still respect that his thoughts are valid, and yet I don’t get the same in return. I see this a lot, and it’s so great to hear you stick with a message of non-violence and love. It IS the difference, Jay. Over the years your message has given this agnostic a place to turn for a different viewpoint on Christianity. I may be on the other side of the country, but I feel welcome. Thank you so much for having the courage to speak up.

    [sara]

  8. Matt says:

    I understand your frustration and just wanted to remind you that this battle has plagued the church since the beginning. Legalism was challenged by the Apostle Paul repeatedly (and forcefully). When he said “If you judge another at any point, you have fallen from grace and are back under the law – and obligated to fulfill the whole law” you would think those embracing ‘good works’ would have understood, but no – human nature is such that we insist on being an important ingredient in salvation – not understanding that Christ’s sacrifice was sufficient. Hang in there Brother, it (legalism) will always be with us, but so will God’s grace.

  9. Erik says:

    This was a powerful and obviously personal message, but oh how it pertains to so many of our lives.I have been made to feel that I too, in not subscribing to legalism, I am somehow not on par with those I know who believe in the rising exclusivity so inherent in legalism’s doctrine. And it is painful when it comes from those you are close to and care about;As if I am not attempting to live as a follower of Christ. And I agree, ‘they’ are not the enemy, and as I mentioned a few nights ago in a gathering, how dissapointing it is that there has to be such disparity abreast when I want to worship with those I am close to.

  10. I don’t care if you’re my brethren in Christ or not – either way, you’re a bunch of fuckin hipsters and you’re douchebags on that count alone. Why don’t you leave the poor natives of Williamsburg alone and move back to the south and midwest where you assholes are all from and where you belong? Just think how much more shock value your queer hipster lifestyles will have there than they do here. Here you’re just hated, but you’re not shocking anyone.

    Jay Bakker, you’re a hipster douche. 🙂

    • Paolo says:

      Not many hipsters here, and I’m not from the midwest OR the south. And the “poor natives of Williamsburg” come to fellowship with us; we aren’t going out and proselytizing anyone. I have a feeling that as long as we keep sharing our message of love and Grace, then we will always be shocking, no matter what city we call home. Especially where hate and bitterness like this exist.
      What’s the matter, not enough traffic to your site from the Slate article a few days back? Now you’re trolling other people’s sites for hits? You’re fifteen minutes of fame were up fifteen minutes ago. Go make a new tumblr and call it a day.

  11. SPQR says:

    A good tree cannot bring forth evil fruit, neither can a corrupt tree bring forth good fruit. (Mat 7:18)

    Good theology (correct understanding of God)cannot make you a jerk.
    But it may provoke anger and jealousy from
    others just as Abel was hated by Cain for his correct thelogy…

    And in process of time it came to pass, that Cain brought of the fruit of the ground an offering unto the LORD. (Gen 4:)

    And Abel, he also brought of the firstlings of his flock and of the fat thereof. And the LORD had respect unto Abel and to his offering: (Gen 4:4)

    But unto Cain and to his offering he had not respect. And Cain was very wroth, and his countenance fell. (Gen 4:5)

    And the LORD said unto Cain, Why art thou wroth? and why is thy countenance fallen? (Gen 4:6)

    If thou doest well, shalt thou not be accepted? and if thou doest not well, sin lieth at the door. And unto thee shall be his desire, and thou shalt rule over him. (Gen 4:7)

    And Cain talked with Abel his brother: and it came to pass, when they were in the field, that Cain rose up against Abel his brother, and slew him. Gen 4:3-8

  12. Adam says:

    One thing i also wanted to point out to some other posters is that Legalism is one end of the spectrum, Grace Abuse is on the other end. The question I would ask is this… Are the choices that you are making Glorifying Christ? Or are they just hanging another weight on the Cross?

  13. jay bakker says:

    p.s. Sorry about the miss spelling and word flop (you the took) I have dyslexia.

  14. Justin Repp says:

    Something that seems to be lost in this conversation, in my humble opinion, is the idea of balance between grace and holiness. I think that both are necessary in the Christ centered life. All of us, regardless of how much we deny it, struggle with sin. We should not make excuses for sin in our lives. However, grace is given to us so that we can continue to strive to be more like Jesus every day. My task daily is to take up my cross and follow Jesus.

    Sadly some people feel the need critique others as to whether or not they are striving to follow Jesus. Those folks should “take heed lest they fall” and become part of the Christian wounded that they themselves like to shoot.

    That said, Jay good message. I have been listening for a few years now online and I enjoy your messages. I appreciate your transparency. Keep up the good work.

  15. Cloak says:

    Hey, Jay! Excellent message. I particularly loved the part where you said something to the effect of thinking your theology was 100% right a year ago, but you’ve changed since then. That’s what seems to be missing from so much of the Christian discussion: a willingness to continue examining our beliefs and practices and to change when we realize Jesus might have had something more in mind for us than we have imagined.

    Grace and peace to you!

  16. […] “Jay Bakker Strikes Again”. Nice little shout out from some of our friends over at Praxis Habitus.  Please take a look and let us know what you think!  If you haven’t listened to this sermon yet, you can click here. […]

Leave a Reply

